COVID-19 Notice: In order to best serve you while doing our part to maximize health and safety, we continue to be available for telephone and video conferences, and documents can be prepared, reviewed, signed, and exchanged electronically. Call 973-928-0577 for your legal needs!
Law Offices of Peter G. Aziz & Associates LLC - Lawyer Clifton New Jersey

Serving Legal Needs
In New Jersey.

Serving Legal Needs
In New Jersey.

Legal Counsel During
Your Most Important Issues

What are the penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey?

Many individuals go out with their friends and drink, then get behind the wheels of their cars not realizing just how intoxicated they are. What these individuals don’t think about is how there’s an uptick in police presence at night. They’re on the lookout for motorists that are driving recklessly. If they stop you on suspicion of drunk driving and your fail their field sobriety and other tests, then you may be arrested for drunk driving. This crime is penalized quite harshly here in New Jersey.

A first-time driving under the influence (DUI) conviction carries with it a fine of up to $300 as well as a possible 30-day jail sentence. You may also end up with a suspended license and be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for up to seven months. A judge may also order you to complete a 12-hour driver’s education class. You may also be assessed an automobile insurance surcharge for up to three years.

If you’re charged with your second DUI offense, then you may have to pay as much as $1,000 in fines and be sentenced to up to 90 days in jail. A second DUI conviction is also likely to result in a 2-year license suspension, being sentenced to 30 days of community service and being ordered to pay an auto insurance surcharge for three years. You may also have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for four years.

A third DUI conviction in New Jersey carries with it up to $1,000 in fines, a potential 180-day jail sentence, an 8-year license suspension, 30 days of community service and a $1,500 insurance surcharge for 3 years. You may also have to install an ignition interlock on your car for as long as four years.

The penalties that you may face at the time of sentencing can vary depending on what your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was, whether you were driving on a suspended license, whether you refused to take a breath test, whether you were driving with an open container or if there was a minor in the vehicle. An attorney can provide you with experienced legal representation to help fight the charges that may await you when the stakes are high in your New Jersey case.