If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey, be prepared to pay a lot. You can expect to pay a fine between $200 and $1,000, depending on how high your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels are and how many earlier DUI convictions you’ve had.
But some drivers don’t realize that on top of the fines, they’re also expected to pay for additional surcharges related to their DUI charges. What are these surcharges and what happens if you don’t pay them?
Surcharges in addition to DUI fines
In addition to the increasing fines you’ll face depending on your BAC and prior DUI conviction count, you’ll be asked by New Jersey officials to pay for the following additional fees and surcharges:
- A $230 fee for a 12-hour Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program which you must attend
- $100 for a drunk driving fund
- $100 for an Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
- A $3,000 surcharge over three years ($1,000 per year)
- $75 for the Neighborhood Services Fund
These fees are in addition to a DUI conviction’s other penalties, such as prison terms, community service, and installing an ignition interlock device in the driver’s car.
Penalties for not paying surcharges
New Jersey officials will indefinitely suspend your driving privileges if you fail to pay additional surcharges. The state Motor Vehicle Commission will also file an action against you in Supreme Court, which may involve securing a lien against your property or garnishing your wages. State authorities could also levy added fines and fees against you as punishment.
Because you face a mountain of fees and surcharges when you get a DUI conviction, it might be best to challenge the charge with the help of a legal professional. Attorneys won’t just fiercely protect your rights in court but will also help you explore your defense options to ensure you don’t end up paying too much.