If you are under the age of 21, you could face harsh consequences if charged with driving while intoxicated. Whether you are a young driver or a parent concerned about your child, you should realize that drunk driving laws for minors are especially strict in the state of New Jersey. As a result, some young drivers find themselves facing serious allegations that jeopardize their future and cause immediate challenges as well.
It is vital to familiarize yourself with the penalties associated with underage DWI and prepare for court if these charges have arisen.
The consequences of underage DWI charges
According to the State of New Jersey’s official website, there is a zero-tolerance law in place that makes it illegal for drivers under the age of 21 to operate a vehicle with any detectable alcohol in their system. As a result, if you are 21 and found to have a blood alcohol content level of .01 or higher, you could face drunk driving charges.
If convicted, underage DWI charges could result in the loss of your driving privileges for up to 90 days, and you could have to perform community service for up to 30 days. Additionally, you will need to take part in a traffic safety program.
Handling underage DWI charges
Aside from court-imposed penalties, you could struggle as a result of your criminal record and have to deal with a damaged reputation. Because the law punishes drivers under 21 with such small amounts of alcohol in their system, some drivers are wrongly accused of drunk driving, such as those who did not drink alcohol prior to taking a breath test. Make sure you review your case closely and prepare for court.